The Interactive Flipped Classroom Video

Differentiation and hands-on learning have become hallmarks of my classroom ever since I embraced the Flipped Classroom. Time is now on my side and attributes like the aforementioned that seemed impossible to implement in my traditional classroom are now possible. Yet when I reflected on my Flipped Classroom videos they were one size fits all. Regardless of what prior knowledge students had, their work ethic, or their motivation to learn, they all were viewing the same lesson. My strongest learners were watching examples that they understood likely 5 minutes earlier but were still taking notes…On the other hand my weakest learners were not having steps broken down for them enough to help them move forward with a sound understanding.

When I created my initial Flipped Classroom videos I did my best to make them as engaging and interactive as possible. “Pause here and try the example on your own, then fast-forward to the solution to see if you got it correct.” “Now that you have finished the lesson write down one question you have that we can address in class.” This helped but still was not what my students truly needed.

With the release of Camtasia 8 in the summer of 2012 I had a complete shift in my thinking. Videos could be created to meet the individual needs of my learners. (See my previous post where I explain this further: Re-inventing the Flip Video). So this past week I thought I would give it ago. It was time consuming to make but I really feel it gives provides for a more student-centered learning experience. Here are some of the interactive aspects I included in the video:

  • Table of Contents – Students can navigate to what they need. Perhaps they don’t want to watch the examples or maybe they would like to watch an additional one. The student who wanted to review a concept that they remember was in the video can now go to exactly where it is rather that navigating blindly.
  • Embedded Questions – Students can tailor a lesson that meets their needs depending on how they answer a series of questions. If they respond one way they go in this direction, another response goes a different way.
  • Link to Manipulatives – A link to a manipulative is included to help bring some inquiry into the lesson.
  • FFW to Answer – Rather than having students pause the video and navigate the timeline to find the answer then can pause and click on the button that takes them to the solution.
  • Additional Examples – Buttons are placed at the end of examples to give students the option to watch another example.
  • Additional Resources – Links to other demonstration and resources for those students that struggle with my explanations or need to see things demonstrated in a different way.
  • Embedded Quiz – At the end of the lesson I have short quiz for my students to take. It assess low level understanding to see if students understood what the big ideas were in the video.
  • Statistics – I didn’t do this in this video but you can have student login to determine who watchedthe video, for how long they watched it, and also determine how well they did on the quiz. For those that love to keep student accountable to watch the video this could be huge. (I don’t btw, feel another post coming…)

For the interactive features to work best let the timeline fully load, here it is, let me know what you think!

Interactive Instructional Video

About flippingmath

Math Teacher, Flipper, Blue Jays Fan
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Interactive Flipped Classroom Video

  1. Kieron Boyle says:

    Graham … I always enjoy seeing and reading about all the different things you are doing in your flipclass. The interactive option for students is brilliant. What a great way for the student to gear the lessons to fit their learning style the best… lots of notes, lots of examples, maybe try some problems now, am I ready for the quiz, etc. etc. Great questions the students can go through now. I am going to really look at this as an option in my classroom for next year. Thanks as always! Can’t wait to read your next post(s) on this.

  2. tcsamaripa says:

    this is phenomenal. I’m not a math teacher but I love the concept. Could apply it to book discussion for ELA. Have chapter summaries, discussion questions and quizzes along with a table of contents for each chapter. I’m curious, how long did it take you to make this? One of the biggest issues I’m having this year is TIME for creating screencasts. This looks like it would take a lot of time to do. Something for me to play with over the summer :).

    • flippingmath says:

      It took me considerably longer than it currently takes me to make one of my regular Flipped Classroom videos. I’ll need to look for areas to cut corners if i wanted to do this for a full unit. Although with that being said it has been a lot of fun and the few students who gave me some input and have seen the final project think it is helpful. I’ll be showing the video to the rest of my class tomorrow so we’ll see how it goes. I am interested to hear what additional suggestions they have.

  3. I am blown away at how interactive that video is…I imagine that a student would love to skip around a video as needed. Awesome work! I would love to hear your students’ reactions to that video. I wish Camtasia for Mac had the embedded quiz feature!

  4. Sascha Sciandra says:

    great stuff. one question on the quiz can there be correct answers that the program counts as being incorrect and if so what are the possiblilities of correction with the program?

    • Sascha Sciandra says:

      sorry let me clarify is there a way to correct that bug in the program if it counts certain answers as being incorrect when the student really did have the right answer

      • flippingmath says:

        Not sure I follow…
        There is no bug in the program. As we know from time to time on MC responnses students select the wrong ones for whatever reason when often they understand. If students can justify that they understand the concept than I’ll give them credit. It should be noted though that as long as they achieve 70% or above credit is more or less irrelevant on the quizzes.

  5. Betahny says:

    Oh my GOODNESS!! You don’t know how much i’m flipping out right now. For months I’ve been describing this as the type of video I wished I could do. You don’t know how excited I am that it’s possible. YAY!!! I am a first year teacher and this is SOOO helpful. How do you make the interactive buttons, and how do you make them cue different videos? I’d love to pick your brain. please email me!!

  6. Patrick says:

    I see such tremendous potential in this approach and can understand how long it might take to put a whole unit together let alone an entire semester’s worth of content. Is there any chance you’d be willing to share the project file and/or videos you created using Camtasia? I’m hoping to implement a similar approach at our French school board and this could help accelerate the process greatly by allowing me to look at how you went about it and then modifying for my needs instead of re-inventing the wheel.

    I really like your blog and look forward to future discussions,

    Patrick

Leave a Reply

